Eighth World Congress Award Winners Announced

The International Brain Injury Association is pleased to announce the winners of the various awards presented at the Eighth World Congress on Brain Injury, held in Washington, DC.

MARCH 10-14, 2010
Jennett Plum Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions to the Field of Brain Injury
Sir Graham Teasdale, MD, FRCS, FRCP
Henry Stonnington, MBBS, MSc, FRCP (presented posthumously)
Henry Stonnington Award for the Best Review Article in Brain Injury
First Place: Sara Elizabeth McEwen, PhD, University of Toronto, Graduate Department of Rehabilitation Science, Toronto, Ontario, Canada. 
Cognitive Strategy Use to Enhance Motor Skill Acquisition Post-stroke: A Critical Review
Second Place:  Bernhard Walder, MD and Mathias Zuercher, MD, Division of Anaesthesiology, University Hospitals of Geneva, Switzerland. 
The Use of Glasgow Coma Scale in Injury Assessment: A Critical Review
World Congress Poster Awards
 First Place: Pamela VandeVord, PhD2;  Richard Bolander, MS1; Cynthia Bir, PhD1; Blake Mathie1.
1Wayne State University, United States, 2John D. Dingell VA Medical Center, Research & Development Service, United States
Maturation Related Changes May Explain a Range Specific Response in the Rat Model to Shock Wave Induced Neurotrauma
Second Place: Grant Iverson, PhD1;  Rael Lange, PhD2; Minna Waljas, MS3;  Ullamari Hakulinen, MS4; Prasun Dastidar, MD, PhD4;  Juha Ohman, MD, PhD3; Seppo Soimakallio, MD, PhD4.
1University of British Columbia, Canada, 2British Columbia Mental Health and Addiction Services, Canada, 3Tampere University Hospital, Finland, 4Medical Imaging Centre of Pirkanmaa Hospital District, Finland
Examining Neurobiological Underpinnings of Depression Following Mild Traumatic Brain Injury
Young Investigator Award

Carolne Schnakers, PhD, Coma Science Group, Cyclotron Research Centre, University and the University Hospital of Liege, Belgium


Lifetime Achievement Award
George Zitnay, PhD, National and International Consultant on Neurotrauma, Distinguished Professor, St Francis University, Loretto, PA, United States
Safe Car of the Year Award
Volvo XC60